GQ Style Awards 2018: Anjali Lama Wins Agent of Social Change

Anjali Lama has added another feather to her cap.

The 33-year-old Nepali model, who splits her time between Mumbai and Kathmandu, is living the life of her dreams as this is the golden phase of her career. Ever since she made her Lakme Fashion Week debut in Mumbai last year, she has become one of the most prominent and busiest models in Nepal and India both. Her latest achievement is bagging the Agent of Social Change award at the GQ Style Awards.

The award night was organised by GQ India on March 31 in Mumbai to honor achievers from a broad range of fields. Apart from Lama; it were the Bollywood biggies like Akshay Kumar, Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt who went home with the major awards. While Kumar was honored with the GQ Legend Award, Kapoor and Bhatt won themselves the most stylish man and woman awards respectively. In the same event; ‘Padmaavat’ actor Jim Sarbh was awarded with the Style Maven award, and the award for Sartorial Excellence went to the ‘Love Aajkal’ actor Rahul Khanna. Cricketer Rohit Sharma bagged the title of Sporting Elegance.

“With her poise and presence, the #GQStyleAwards AGENT OF SOCIAL CHANGE @anjalilama_official is the first transgender model to walk the ramp at Lakme Fashion Week in 2017 – and also among the most sought-after models in the fashion industry. Arguably more significant though is her widespread acceptance and success, which shows the progress made by transgender communities in this country: Lama represents the increasing assimilation of a community traditionally excluded from the mainstream, and now, suddenly, its strut”, GQ India wrote about Anjali Lama on its Instagram handle.

A delighted Lama took to her Instagram to share the happiness. “Its @gqindia @style award, the first of its kind of award for me and first Nepali to receive such honour”, she wrote.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

GQ Legend Award – Akshay Kumar

Most Stylish Man – Shahid Kapoor

Most Stylish Woman – Alia Bhatt

Style Maven – Jim Sarbh

Sartorial Excellence – Rahul Khanna

Sporting Elegance – Rohit Sharma

The Pioneer Award – Scott Schuman

Breakthrough Designer – Ruchika Sachdeva of Bodice

Digital Don – Kayaan Contractor

Young Designer – Dhruv Kapoor

Fashion Sustainability Award – Sanjay Garg of Raw Mango

Fashion Business Award – Darshan Mehta

Agent of Social Change – Anjali Lama

The Presence Award – Gaurav Gupta

Cover Photo Courtesy: Lakme Fashion Week

Neeraj Pun (NEO)

Connect with the blogger on: